19 Adorable Truths About Nickelback

1. Nickelback is a Canadian rock band formed in 1995 in Hanna, Alberta.

2. The band is composed of guitarist and lead vocalist Chad Kroeger, guitarist, keyboardist and backing vocalist Ryan Peake, bassist Mike Kroeger, and drummer Daniel Adair.

3. The band went through a few drummer changes between 1995 and 2005, achieving its current form when Adair replaced drummer Ryan Vikedal.

4. Nickelback is one of the most commercially successful Canadian groups, having sold more than 50 million albums worldwide Billboard ranks them the most successful rock group of the decade; their song “How You Remind Me” was listed as the best-selling rock song of the decade and the fourth best-selling of the decade.

5. They were listed number seven on the Billboard top artist of the decade, with four albums listed on the Billboard top albums of the decade.

6. In 2011, the band released their seventh album Here and Now which again topped the charts.

7. They subsequently obtained an American deal with global distribution via Roadrunner Records.

8. For the release of their seventh album, the band parted from EMI Canada and signed a new Canadian domestic distribution deal with Universal Music Canada.

9. The band was formed in the early 1990s as a cover band called the “Village Idiots” by Chad Kroeger, Ryan Peake, Mike Kroeger, and Brandon Kroeger.

10. The band performed covers of songs from Led Zeppelin and Metallica.

11. “Fly” was included on both Hesher and Curb and was the first single produced by Nickelback.

12. In 1997, Brandon Kroeger left the band and the band searched for a new drummer. In Summer 1998, Ryan Vikedal joined the band.

13. Roadrunner A&R Ron Burman told HitQuarters that one of his West Coast scouts sent him the self-released album and, suitably impressed, he travelled to Vancouver to see them perform live.

14. I thought their song “Leader of Men” was a smash hit.” Nickelback signed a record deal with EMI and Roadrunner Records in 1999.

15. The State, was released by Nickelback in 2000 by Roadrunner Records and EMI Canada.

16. It spawned 4 singles: “Old Enough”, “Worthy To Say”, “Leader of Men” and “Breathe”, the last two being Top 10 rock hits.

17. The album was certified platinum status in 2008, after the success of their later albums.

18. Around 2001 Chad Kroeger started “studying every piece, everything sonically, everything lyrically, everything musically, chord structure.

19. I would dissect every single song that I would hear on the radio or every song that had ever done well on a chart and I would say, ‘Why did this do well?'”

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


To Top